Cashback Movie Review


Thanks to Netflix, my personalized recommendation prompted me to this movie Cashback. I had no idea about this movie or when it came out but as I read the synopsis, I was intrigued as with this movie was being compared my other favorite movie Eternal Sunshine of a Spotless Mind.

After breaking up with his girlfriend, aspiring artist Ben Willis (Sean Biggerstaff) develops insomnia and takes a night-shift job at a supermarket to pass the hours. He soon discovers that he can freeze time and begins fantasizing about pretty checkout clerk Sharon (Emilia Fox). When he’s not dreaming of Sharon — who may hold the key to resolving his sleeplessness — Ben roams the aisles disrobing beautiful customers and sketching them.

While this is a small budget film, it is by no means short on delivery on the goods. From a film production, which I used to work in, I can appreciate great camera work. The clip below from YouTube is the first six minutes of the film. Not until you check out part two and one minute in that part or after seven minutes in the film if you watch it on Netflix do we see this amazing tracking shot which words can not do it justice. All I can say is that this shot really sets the tone of the film. Another thing to look out for, there is a great deal of nudity but context of the film it adds to the storytelling. And yes, after reading the last sentence you might laugh or think that I am full of crap but I can truly identify with the character of Ben Willis and his fascination of the female form.

About 1/2 through the film, I began to notice the actress that played the ex-girlfriend to Ben and a quick search on IMDB.COM proved my guess. If you are familiar with the name Michelle Ryan or not, she was the new Bionic Woman which I gave up about a few episodes a la Heroes. (I don’t usually give up watching series both good and bad but there are times where my intelligence as a fan was insulted.) Also, Michelle played the role of Lady Christina de Souza in the Dr. Who movie Planet of the Dead. (She is hot to look at but I hated this movie.)

Overall, this is not a typical scifi film as this does not have a great deal of scifi elements. However, the ability to stop time or manipulate time  is a classic element which have seen before such as Hiro from Heroes, H.G.Wells in Time after Time, Millenium (based on Varley’s novel not the Fox series, The Girl, the Goldwatch and Everything, and even Timecop. In some cases, when there is an explanation of said powers this can take away from the magical qualities of said powers. Ben’s use of controlling time for his artistry makes perfect sense in the overall scheme of the film that makes it feel fresh and unique.

I urge you to check out this clip below or movie on Netflix as I think you will be pleasantly surprised.