TrekWeb.com – Jonathan Frakes Criticizes Enterprise Finale and Praises First Contact, Talks About His Favorite TNG Episode and Why Nemesis Didnt Worked



One of the interesting about this interview is the frankess in Frakes with Nemesis. When Nemesis was coming out, there was some underlying tones by the TNG cast about have Stuart Baird helm this project. I felt watching this video below, you get the sense that things were not great on set which translated to the worse Trek movie, in my opinion, ever. When you’re done, click here to read some post-Nemesis comments.

By GustavoLeao / 16:07, 2 November 2011 / Star Trek: Nemesis

High-Def Digest posted the full transcript of Next Generation actor/director Jonathan Frakes Q&A session at this weekend Canada Comic-Con and here are excerpts of the extensive report.

Q: How does it feel to be the guy who wrapped up the whole episodic Star Trek series as a whole?

JF: They said it would be a Valentine to the fans, but all of it ended up doing I think was hurting Scott Bakula‘s feelings. He was such a gentleman about it and I said to Scott this is weird for me to be on your show and your show is being taken off before it should be taken off and he was such a gentleman about it and said “no, glad you’re here” so it was awkward on all accounts, except with working with Marina again which is always lovely. But I wasn’t crazy about it. And it was so thinly connected, I thought too. Thanks for bringing up such an unpleasant memory.

Q: What was it like to direct ‘First Contact?’ It seems to be like the best star trek movie ever.

JF: It seems to be like what? Better than ‘The Wrath of Khan?’ Better than the movie with the whales?

(Laughter)

JF: I like the whale movie and I love oh, um, what’s his name’s last movie (laughs). J.J.! J.J. Abrams. I think that movie was spectacular and I think Karl Urban as Bones was un-be-lievable.

(Applause)

JF: Well, First Contact was great for a lot of reasons. Obviously it was my first movie and I was thrilled to do it but I was lucky enough to get James Cromwell, the brilliant Alice Krige who sold that whole thing with the spine going into — she was a genius, and my godmother Alfre Woodard agreed to do the movie who is spectacular in the film. That scene she had with Patrick around the glass case was just one of my favorites. And Marina was hysterical in the drinking scene.

(Laughter)

JF: I have very, very, very fond memories of ‘First Contact.’ Ahh, the good old days.

Q: Are you going to go on ‘The Big Bang Theory?’

JF: LeVar Burton and I are waiting for the phone call. We are a little insulted that it hasn’t come yet.

Q: What was your favorite episode from an actor’s perspective?

JF: My favorite episode of the Next Generation was ‘The Best of Both Worlds‘ between season three and four or four and five or whenever that was I thought that was great television. I have a soft spot obviously for ‘The Offspring’ which is the first one I directed where I was lucky enough not only for Rene’s script who is now writing ‘Terra Nova’ and was on ‘Castle’ with me and went on to Deep Space and all that stuff, but he wrote a script for ‘The Offspring’ which is the episode Data builds himself a daughter and it was a Spiner episode which is always a good break and Brent is so compelling to watch. So I have a soft spot for that one. But I think ‘The Best of Both Worlds’ was really, really good television. And what was your favorite episode?

Q: The one when you were in the (inaudible)…

JF: Oh, ‘Frame of Mind?’

(Applause)

JF: That was a little off the edge. I feel like we have a little class room vibe here. Have you all been taking notes?

Q: What are your thoughts on the ‘Nemesis’ movie and why it wasn’t as well-received as the other movies?

JF: Very good question. The ‘Nemesis’ movie was, my thoughts on why it didn’t do well, awkward, be very careful Jonathan you are using your outside voice…

via TrekWeb.com – Jonathan Frakes Criticizes Enterprise Finale and Praises First Contact, Talks About His Favorite TNG Episode and Why Nemesis Didnt Worked.

Leave a Reply

