Maybe it’s me…

Posted: November 1, 2007 in Scifi
Tags: , , ,

robot-chicken-laff-olympics.jpg

I happened to watch Robot Chicken this past sunday on the Cartoon Network and liked the episode overall as usual. There are times where the show pushes the envelope into areas that put our beloved childhood characters into real life situation but they are done brilliantly with humor. However, there was one skit that I had a problem with. The concept of having a Munich parody using the Laff-A-Lympics as the backdrop made me feel really uncomfortable. I had seen Munich over the summer and the film is a depressing and dark.  

For about the first 10 seconds, I thought the creative staff at Robot Chicken had a great spin using the Laff-A-Lympics characters to spoof Munich. Most of the sketches are done very quickly in under 20 seconds and with longer ones taking a few minutes to play out. I expected the skit to be of the former rather than later. As this skit played on, I was no longer laughing. The first thing that came to mind, “Would Robot Chicken do a parody on 9/11?” I know that this is a slippery slope error in thinking but I started to think, “Could this series be going in a wrong direction? If they made a Munich parody, what other tragic events would they explore?”

I have no problems watching Rudolph the Red Nose Reindeer be used in a parody of The Godfather as The Reinfather which aired on Mad TV. I have a sick and demented love for this type of humor and Robot Chicken carries on that mindset perfectly. The parody of The Godfather is an appropriate parody as with any other movie and characters because they are just fiction. My advice to Robot Chicken, don’t find humor in tragic events. Perhaps, the Laff-A-Lympics could have done something about steroid usage in the games to make it more topical.

As a writer, I’ve even considered to get a few ideas together and find away to get them made through Robot Chicken. But if this is how they want to play, you can count me out.

Again, is it just me?

Leave a Reply

