Dune Book Group Begins in April 2008

Posted: November 3, 2007 in Scifi
Tags: , , , ,

dune-book1.jpg

I am in the process of launching a Scifi/Fantasy Book Group for the Miami Lakes Branch Library. The first book chosen for this group will be Frank Herbert’s Dune. Since I am on the Web 2.0 committee for MDPLS, I wanted to extend the book group to everyone outside the Miami Lakes Branch to join.

There will be an actual meeting at the branch for those who can join us in  April. The official date will be named later. For those who can not join us, I am planning to either have a transcript of the meeting posted to this blog or record a podcast you can still attend virtually. I will be making a seperate page for the book group for those individuals who want to give their opinion of the book, insights, or comments. I promise to include them in the meeting. Plus, I will post Dune material including information about both Dune movies, audio, and biography of Frank Herbert. If you would like to be involved, send me an email with your name and where you are from to: monsterscifishow@gmail.com. The information gathered will only be for me to study how well this blog can reach outside an my library and to use the data only to enhance the library website. Don’t miss out on the fun and soon you will be saying:

I must not fear. Fear is the mind-killer. Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration. I will face my fear. I will permit it to pass over me and through me. And when it has gone past I will turn the inner eye to see its path. Where the fear has gone there will be nothing. Only I will remain.

  

Comments
  1. monster7of9 says:

    Posted by Mrs. Monster 8 of 9
    Has anyone ever read the Terry Brooks Shannara series or the Young Adult/Adult Fantasy Novels of Robin McKinley? McKinley has written some wonderful works such as Blue Sword, Deerskin, and Sunshine. Donna Jo Napoli also has a number of deeply disturbing Young Adult books based on the origins of fairy tales such as Beauty and the Beast (Beast), Cinderella (Bound), Hansel and Gretel (Magic Circle) and even Rumplestilskin (Spinners). She traces back the origins of the classic Grimm Fairy tales to Persia, China, and England. Please send me your ideas and favorite authors and books.

    Like

  2. islaminscifi says:

    Speaking of Dune, Here is a site on Islam in Science Fiction. In this website we have tried to collect information about the depiction of Islam and Islamic themes in Science Fiction literature and science fiction written by Muslims.
    http://www.islamscifi.com/

    Like

  3. monster7of9 says:

    Thank you very much for the information. This will help show some great parrallels to our times and the issues we all face.

    Like

  4. Amy says:

    I would enjoy being a part of this, I’m hooked on the Dune series.. by April I’m sure I’d love to re-read the series.

    Like

  5. monster7of9 says:

    Hi Amy,
    Thanks for joining the group. Please send an email to monsterscifishow@gmail.com so I can add you to my Dune email group.

    Thanks,
    Montgomery

    Like

  6. […] Read the rest of this great post here […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

