Pics from Owly – Andy Runton event @ Miami Lakes Branch Library

Posted: November 5, 2007 in Scifi
Tags: , , ,

388px-owly.jpg

Hi everyone, sorry to those who could not attend this event at the library but a great time was had by all. If this is the first time hearing about Owly or of Andy Runton, visit his website: www.andyrunton.com.

I was not able to say for most of the event since the library was extremely busy. The time that I did stay was near the end where Andy was showing how to draw different facial expressions on Owly. As Andy called out to the audience to give a feeling, a little girl said angry. Andy wanted to end to show on a much happier note but he went along with the emotion and then asked what character who was angry. I threw in my two cents and yelled Darth Vader from the back of the room. Everyone laughed and looked in my direction as if to say, “We expected that from you geeky boy!” Ah, screw it! He drew the picture anyway but later he said to me under his breathe, “Vader.” He was giving me a hard time in a good way but this was not the first time he drew Vader on Owly. What was impressive was to get enough detail on Owly, who is only 1 foot tall, to look like Vader, who is over 6 feet tall.

I was not able to say for most of the event since the library was extremely busy. The time that I did stay was near the end where Andy was showing how to draw different facial expressions on Owly. As Andy called out to the audience to give a feeling, a little girl said angry. Andy wanted to end to show on a much happier note but he went along with the emotion and then asked what character who was angry. I threw in my two cents and yelled Darth Vader from the back of the room. Everyone laughed and looked in my direction as if to say, “We expected that from you geeky boy!” Ah, screw it! He drew the picture anyway but later he said to me under his breathe, “Vader.” He was giving me a hard time in a good way but this was not the first time he drew Vader on Owly. What was impressive was to get enough detail on Owly, who is only 1 foot tall, to look like Vader, who is over 6 feet tall.

Later we talked briefly about a common friend, Robert Venditti. He also works for Top Shelf Comix and has a scifi graphic novel called The Surrogates. I told Andy to tell Rob that I had not forgotten to do a podcast with him in the future. Having said that, I extended the invitation to Andy to also do a podcast with me which he accepted. All I need now is to link up my damn podcast on to my blog and all would be right as rain. 

Below is a collection of pictures from the event and enjoy.

Comments
  1. Kimberly says:

    What is the name of your podcast? How do we find it? Please send the link to my email.

    Like

Leave a Reply

