Are You Going to MegaCon???

Posted: January 5, 2008 in Scifi
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

 

Megacon is my first and only large multi-genre convention that I have attended. I am hoping to also attend other much larger venues like Comic-Con in San Diego and Dragon-Con in Atlanta as well but MegaCon is pretty much a done deal for me as I can travel easily up from Miami. While the vendors are fine, I mainly want to go for the guest plus any panel discussions they may have.

The last time I was there, I remembered seeing Gil Gerard and Erin Gray from the Buck Rogers series. Erin looked incredible as I adore an older woman’s look but Gil… was much heavier and almost unrecognizable from the Gil I grew up with. Recently, watching the Discovery Health Channel, I saw a special on Gil where he went under the knife to help restore his health. I can totally relate to Gil’s problem with weight as I too have struggled going up and down on the scale. Take a look at the YouTube clip below but if you can, find it on your local cable or sat. tv for this program, it’s worth time. On that note, while I am not the type of person that feels comfortable approaching Con guest, (I don’t want to be a dork in front of them), I am sort of planning to buy the Buck Rogers dvd set and have him and Erin sign it.


Aside from this, I am planning to interview Robert Venditti “The Surrogates” and Andy Runton “Owly” from Top Shelf Comix. Last year, the Hero Initiative Organization held a bowling event after MegaCon which I had the best time and met artist Chris Moreno who I also have on my list to interview. I am hoping for the same type of event in ’08 but nothing has been posted on the MegaCon website. So, if you live in the Orlando area or planning to attend, let me know so we can possibly meet up and perhaps, record you on my podcast. Leave me a message via Meebo or email me: monsterscifishow@gmail.com.

Here is the latest listing of MegaCon Guest:

Adrian Pasdar
Heroes (Nathan Petrelli)
$25 charge for autographs
Saturday and Sunday Appearance only

Erica Durance
Smallville (Lois Lane)
Andromeda, Stargate SG-1
$25 charge for autographs
Saturday and Sunday Appearance only

Kristy Swanson
Buffy the Vampire Slayer, The Black Hole
(Original Buffy)

Mark Sheppard
Bionic Woman, Firefly, Battlestar Galactica (Romo Lampkin)
$20 charge for autograph

Wm. Morgan Sheppard
Star Trek VI “Klingon Commander”
$20 charge for autograph

Peter Mayhew
Star Wars (Chewbacca)
$20 charge for autograph
Official Pix photos $5 extra

Dylan Neal
Blood Ties – (Mike Celluci)
$20 charge for autograph

Kyle Schmid
Bloodties, The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants
(Henry Fitzroy)
$20 charge for autograph

Gil Gerard
Buck Rogers “Buck Rogers”
$20 charge for autograph

Erin Gray
Buck Rogers “Colonel Wilma”
$20 charge for autograph

June Lockhart
Lost in Space (Maureen Robinson)
$20 for signed photo, some collectibles may be more

Noel Neill
“Lois Lane”, Original Superman TV

Jennifer Rhodes
Charmed (Grams)
$20 for a signed 8×10 and $20 for a Polaroid photo-op signed

Matthew Atherton “Feedback” Who Wants To Be A Superhero?
$15 for autograph and $15 for photo opportunity

Voltaire
Musical performance on Friday 9pm – 10pm
Autograph opportunities Friday 10pm – 11pm

Caitlin Glass
Fullmetal Alchemist, Gunslinger Girl Cynthia Martinez
Slayers, Kino’s Journey

Jarrett Crippen
Who Wants To Be A Superhero (The Defuser)
$15 for signed 8×10 and $15 for a signed Polaroid Photo-Op

Vic Mignogna
Fullmetal Alchemist, Tsubasa Chronicle

Mark Goddard
Lost in Space “Don West”
$20 charge for autograph

George Lowe
Voice of Space Ghost

Nell Wilson
“Fat Momma” Who Wants
To Be A Super Hero

Jon Provost
Lassie (Timmy)

Tanya Huff
Blood Ties series “Author”

Leah Cairns
Battlestar Galactica (Margaret “Racetrack” Edmondson), Kyle XY (Emily Hollander) $20 charge for autograph

Arne Starr
Actor, Illustrator

Steve Bacic
http://www.stevebacic.com
Andromeda – (Nietzschean Gaheris Rhade),
Stargate SG-1
$20 charge for autograph

Jack O’Halloran
Superman II, Superman the Movie (Non)

Aside from Gil and Erin, I am looking forward to see Tanya Huff because of the Blood Ties series as well as several actors from the show.

Comments
  1. Hi , I’m attending Megacon for the second time I went to
    2007 and saw it and had fun . I’m getting a photo-op with
    Erin on Friday , is she nice , after my picture is develop
    I thought maybe she would signed for it . Would she ?

    Like

  2. monster7of9 says:

    I’m sure she’ll sign almost anything. I’m hoping for her signature of my Buck Rogers soundtrack album.

    Also, read about the contest I am running while in MegaCon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

