Wall-E Movie Review

Posted: June 27, 2008 in Scifi
Tags: , , ,

So, not having seen The Hulk, Indiana Jones, The Love Guru, Kung Fu Panda; my movie seeing this summer has suffered greatly at the hands of higher education. Damn it. Damit it all to… Well today, I was able to see Wall-E with my wife and daughter which was a welcome relief to have done a paper just the other day.

To be quite honest, when I first saw the previews I read this movie as a cross between Short Circuit meets E.T.. I am a huge fan of PIXAR but Cars was not one of the better PIXAR movies. The main problem I had with Cars was all the car references like the audio cameos from car drivers. It wasn’t until after Cars came out on DVD did I realize that one of the NPR shows was Car Talk with Click and Clack – The Tappet Brothers. They played Lightning McQueen’s Sponsors for Rust-eze. Except for this one connection, I was left out in the cold and Cars did not warm up to me like other PIXAR movies had. Moving ahead, I am glad to say that PIXAR is not only back on track but this is one of those movies that inspires you. As a lover of movies, amazing animation, great storytelling, and writing, you could not as for a better summer movie to see.

I am not going to into great detail about the plot just because the movie just came out today. I don’t want to give away any spoilers until it comes out on DVD. I will say that this movie does show a projected world that we are destined for. While the word by some reviewers mention some of the bleakness the movie depicts, there is a reason. This movie serves as our proverbial mirror and we may not like what we see in ourselves. I wouldn’t be surprised to see the Wall-E character be used as the new Smokey the Bear for this generation on so many levels.

Before ending this review, I wanted to mention something that was lacking or maybe it was just me. Many of PIXAR’s movies, there is always a reference to the past films, either I’ve missed them or simply there none to speak of. If you see Wall-E please drop me a line about seeing or not seeing any past PIXAR references.

Comments
  1. Here’s a list of some of the Pixar references hidden in the film:

    http://larryfire.wordpress.com/2008/06/28/wall-e-easter-eggs/

    Like

  2. patrick says:

    Wall-E totally looks exactly like the robot from “Short Circuit” (minus the cheesy 80’s style)

    Like

Leave a Reply

