Ghost Rider DVD Review

Posted: July 17, 2008 in Scifi
Tags: , , , ,

 

Okay, I’m late to the game on this by two years but hey, I’ve been busy. It is the night before the Dark Night and feeling sorry for myself that I will not be able to see it in the theaters until sometime in the next couple of weeks. With that, I was in the mood for some type of superhero action movie. The best thing I can say about Ghost Rider is that I enjoyed the pint of Ben & Jerry’s Stephen Cobert Americone Ice Cream.

Marvel’s B-grade heroes on the big screen are really B-grade. When I compare the DC movie franchise versus Marvel, Marvel is ahead on the count but this doesn’t always mean the quality is there. Growing up, Ghost Rider was never one of the comics I read. I never had any interest as a character and watching the movie, it is like watching Spawn before Spawn ever came out.

Getting down to some details of my review. Nicolas Cage is a much better actor than the material but it’s apparent how much energy he puts in to the Ghost Rider role. Stepping back a bit, having listen to Kevin Smith’s Evening With…dvd, he tells the story of his experience writing a Superman screenplay. At that time, Nicolas was up for the role of Superman. Looking at Nic’s Rider performance, I could see him playing Clark Kent but as Superman, he doesn’t have the classic all american handsome facial features. Luckily, Superman Returns was done properly with Brandon Routh.

Eva Mendes role was as strong and important as Kristen Dunst’s Mary Jane Watson in Spiderman 3, yawn. While she is great to look at, her acting and presence is really not up to snuff. I really expected Eva to be the next Rosario Dawson, who I am truly a big fan of, but we shall see if her upcoming role in The Spirit will prove acting abilities.

Lastly, I looked at the name of the director Mark Steven Johnson in the credits. I knew the name sounded familiar and then confirmed it on IMDB as the director for Daredevil. I know a great deal of people dismissed Ben Affleck’s take on Daredevil and the miscast of King Pin by Michael Clarke Duncan. I must have been one of the few that like the movie to buy the director’s cut of Daredevil.

Unfortunately, the Rider movie just didn’t come together and with a baddie like Blackheart to fight against the Ghost Rider even the climax really was a let down. Another thing that ticked me off was Blackheart’s entourage mirrored a similiar crew of baddies in the Elektra movie which he also wrote. In that movie, there is one character, sorry I forgot the name, where he was balancing a coin on his finger. When Elektra fought against the Order of the Hand, I don’t remember seeing the character again. Going back to the Blackheart’s minions, they were just as ineffective.

On the whole, the only reason why you should see it is the same reason why you would watch the first Hulk movie with Eric Bana. You want to see the fx of Ghost Rider which are great but that’s it. I’m glad to have finally seen it but thank god I was able to rent this from the library for free.

Comments
  1. […] Ghost Rider DVD Review   Okay, I’m late to the game on this by two years but hey, I’ve been busy. It is the night before the Dark Night and feeling sorry for myself that I will not be able to see it in the theaters until sometime in the next couple of weeks. With that, I was in the mood for some type of superhero action movie. The best thing I can say about Ghost Rider is that I enjoyed the pint of Ben & Jerry’s Stephen Cobert Americone Ice Cream. Source: Ghost Rider DVD Review […]

    Like

  2. I don’t like the movie.

    Like

Leave a Reply

