April is Poetry Month

Posted: January 6, 2009 in Scifi
Tags: , , , , , , ,

national-poetry-monthWhile April is several months from now, I am in the process of scheduling library events for my branch. I am planning on another Create Your Own Comic event during the last week of April which leads into May 1 – Wolverine comes out in theaters. Aside from this, I have to come up with some kind of poetry program for YA (Young Adults). I had no idea to even plan out so I go to the Intertubes to look for help. I came across this blog which had a similiar entry to what I am writing about.

In reading, I came across another link with that blog which led me to a wiki on wordplay. The one idea listed which I liked was called Alphabet Poem. Start with a letter in the alphabet, pick a word with that same letter, and then continue with the next letter and so forth. This reminded me of the show Whose Line Is It Anyway? where the comedians would have to improv their lines in the same fashion. I can see some fun potential with this game in the library. The other option to consider is to do Hiakus. The concept is fairly easy to understand as there is only 3 lines with 5 syllables for lines 1 and 3 and 7 syllables for line 2. This can be done on the spot and use any topic or subject. I came up with a scifi hiaku for Dune.

Dune desert planet

Home of the spice called Melange

And the spice must flow

Here is another one:

Planet of the Apes

Damn you, damn you all to Hell

You damn dirty apes

Corny, yes. However, if I can do this quickly, I don’t this teens would have a problem coming up with something of their own.

Comments
  1. […] – Guys Lit Wire. Behold, Zombie Haiku by Ryan Mecum. I wrote a while back about promoting April is Poetry Month on my blog and how I started to do some scifi haiku. While I am not a true fan of poetry, I do […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

