Who Says Zombies Are Not Deep?

Posted: March 11, 2009 in Scifi
Tags: , , ,

zombie-hiakus

Today was one of those days that I really needed a good hearty laugh to relieve some stress. And I laughed my ass off greatly. As always, I checked my google reader account and I found this tidbit on one of my increasingly favorite blogs – Guys Lit Wire. Behold, Zombie Haiku by Ryan Mecum. I wrote a while back about promoting April is Poetry Month on my blog and how I started to do some scifi haiku. While I am not a true fan of poetry, I do love a good haiku that is themed about the subjects I love.

I tried to find a copy in my library system and unfortunately, there is no record of it. I will have to go and buy it for myself. More importantly, as a librarian, I can see the value of getting teens involved in doing their own haiku and perhaps lead them to more poetry using this book. While Zombie Haiku may not be your cup o’ brains, this does add a fun spin to traditional poetry. Read below two examples of Zombie Haiku goodness:

Little old ladies
speed away in their wheelchairs,
frightened meals on wheels.

Wheelchair pile-up!
Five old women on the ground,
helpless as babies.

Click hereto read more on this entry from the Guys Lit Wire Blog

Comments
  1. A. Morisson says:

    Love the zombie poem!

    Check out more at my Zombie Research Society blog:

    http://www.zombieresearch.net

    Hope you like it, and keep up the good work!

    AM

    Like

Leave a Reply

