Hellboy II DVD Review

Posted: April 19, 2009 in Scifi
Tags: , , ,

hellboy-ii-dvdI wished I could have started on an upbeat note about watching Hellboy II over the weekend. The famed graphic novel by Dark Horse Comics and first movie adaptation were enough for me to be a great of fan of the Hellboy series. What surprised me was the lack of fun I felt in this second go around as opposed to the first film. Basically, this felt as if del Toro had left overs from Pan’s Labyrinth from the set design to the wondrous creature effects and just brought them over to Hellboy II. I am not saying this is bad except I’ve seen this before in Pan’s and I wanted more Hellboy.

We know that Hellboy does not want to acknowledge who he really is: Anung Un Rama – the Beast of the Apocalypse.  He was raised by Professor Bruttenholm which helped to over come his true nature. However, as Hellboy’s human father passed on, what happens to Hellboy? How does he deal with who is truly is without that guiding influence? This role could have been easily transitioned to his girlfriend Liz Sherman in the second movie. None of this was ever address in this film. On this point, I saw myself along these lines.

My stepfather raised me for most of my life and I grew to dislike my father; just like Hellboy. At times, I wanted to nothing to do with him as a person nor did not want to grow up anything like him. My stepfather was my Professor Bruttlenholm. I wanted to be like the gentle man and not the horrible man I saw my biological father. For fear being an unfit father, I did not want to have children of my own. Luckily, my wife as allowed me to rest my own fears and today we have a family. Now, put this in the context of the movie Liz should have been the one to push Hellboy into wanting a family. Hellboy would be fearfully of not having Bruttlenholm to guide him. Liz, like my wife, would move into this important role in Hellboy’s life. Instead, we get in the film, Liz covering up her pregnancy from Hellboy and acting like an underage teenager from Fast Times at Ridgemont High. This leads me to my next point about Liz Sherman (Selma Blair).

After Hellboy II came out last year Selma Blair co-starred in a NBC sitcom called Kath & Kim. I love Selma’s dim-witted portrayalof Kim; who knew about her comical side.  When I saw her in Hellboy II, all I could see was Kim not Liz. There were snippets of Kim in Liz and I half expected her to say to Hellboy and to their relationship that is was O-U-V-E-R. (You have to see the Kath & Kim show to understand the reference.) On top of that, Liz was pretty lame throughout the film despite the fact that she can turn into fire. She was terribly misused all around.

Lastly, Abe Sapien was another character that I loved from the first movie. I was kinda hoping that Abe would be showcased more to show about where he came from and/or his special abilities. Instead, we are treated to a very, forgive the pun, watered down character that has very little in this film. He spends more time on land and acts as annoying as C-3PO. What a waste.

What is even more disheartening about this movie is that both del Toro and Mignola worked on the screenplay and story. Mignola the creator of the Hellboy comic should have opted to tap one of this books and be made into a film. The Hellboy universe is supposed to be be fun and filled with great stories. Yet, we are treated to a half-hearted attempt to entertainment me with beloved characters. Sorry but I’ll be sticking with the graphic novel for my Hellboy fix.

Comments
  1. […] Monster Scifi Show Blog placed an interesting blog post on Hellboy II DVD ReviewHere’s a brief overviewI wished I could have started on an upbeat note about watching Hellboy II over the weekend. The famed graphic novel by Dark Horse Comics and first movie adaptation were enough for me to be a great of of the Hellboy series. What surprised me was the lack of fun I felt in this second go around as opposed to the first film. Basically, this felt as if del Toro had left overs from Pan’s Labyrinth from the set design to the wondrous creature effects and just brought them over to Hellboy II. I am not s […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

