New Companion for the New Doctor

Posted: May 29, 2009 in Scifi
Tags: , , , , , ,

Karen Gillan

The BBC today revealed that the companion for the forthcoming series of Doctor Who will be Karen Gillan.

Twenty-one-year-old Gillan will star alongside new Time Lord, Matt Smith, when the smash hit drama returns to BBC One in spring 2010.

With filming due to begin this summer, Gillan beat off dozens of hopefuls to land one of television’s most coveted roles.

Gillan said: “I am absolutely over the moon at being chosen to play the Doctor’s new companion. The show is such a massive phenomenon that I can’t quite believe I am going to be a part of it.

“Matt Smith is an incredible actor and it is going to be so much fun to act alongside him – I just can’t wait to get started!”

click here to read more

Comments
  1. Steve says:

    So a totally new cast for Dr Who. If I started watching these ones, without having watched all of the Tennant ones (I’m way behind!), I wouldn’t be lost, would I?

    Like

  2. monster7of9 says:

    I know that the series with Eccleston and Tenant there were many crossovers of the companions and supporting casts. However, with the new doctor and new companion, I’m not sure how this will remain. Since there will be a new producer of the show, they may take a different route. We will have to wait and see but the meantime, if you have seen the series with Eccleston and Tenant, I envy you. I had the greatest time watching quality scifi programming.

    Like

  3. Steve says:

    I only saw the Eccleston series in full on CBC here in Canada – after that one aired, they didn’t do much publicising of when it would be on air next, and I think it went to air and I never knew about it so I just haven’t bothered catching up yet.

    Like

    • monster7of9 says:

      Let me tell you, Eccleston was brought his own style and Tenant is just as good if not better. You must see all 4 season (or series). Each season gets better and better. The 4th one left me speechless. Absolutely brilliant.

      Like

  4. Griff says:

    “Gillan beat off dozens of hopefuls to land one of television’s most coveted roles”… Would you care to rephrase that.. it sounds naughty

    Like

Leave a Reply

