Hulu – Zombie Girl – Watch the full feature film now.

Posted: August 17, 2009 in Scifi
Tags: , , , ,

zombie girlWatching this documentary of Emily, a 12 year old girl filmmaker, certainly reminds me of my youth where I too wanted to make my own movie. My movie was called Lupin which my friend Michele came up with the name; I believe. She drew up some sketches and I was working on the story. Since I had no idea how to make a movie, I went down to the library in the Bronx and picked up a book on how to shoot one. I took down lots of notes and of course, it was never made. Luckily, I still continued going down the filmmaking path but on a very slow speed. Not until college where I entered into film studies/production did my world explode around me. I truly began to appreciate the creative process and the amount of work and dedication to the craft. I finally did a small super 8 film of a mugging in New York. I had even used my car to do an opening tracking shot. I was happy with the results but I never forgot that yearning to create something.

Watching the documentary is at times painful to watch. I am not saying this to be mean but rather I truly understand the passions by Emily. She is 100x a better film director than I was at her age. Remembering that passion back then and now the responsibility as a parent, I truly feel for Emily and her parents. At times I find myself getting caught up that I just want to go into the movie and help them both.

I’m sure Pathogen, her zombie film, will be great. I can’t wait to see it.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Leave a Reply

