“Spider-Man” Producers Turn to Comic Book Writer to Polish Script : Slice of SciFi

Posted: February 17, 2011 in Scifi
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I don’t want to sound heartless but this Spiderman production on Broadway is being an even bigger joke than the picture with this entry.  Over the months, I followed this story and there appears to be no end in making this show work. At this time, I don’t believe this happen. Yet, I would be remissed in saying,  this appears to be the main draw for people to plunk down there cold hard cash to see something go wrong. I want to believe that watching Spiderman on Broadway should not be equated like waiting a spectacular car crash happen in an Indy 500 race but let’s face reality; those are not comic book fans in those seats.

In a 60 minutes interview director Julie Taymor did mentioned this thought which I though best explains her way of thinking:

Taymor explains that she embraces the challenges of such a big, risky show. “I love it when people say ‘What a horrible, lousy idea.’ I think that’s great,” Taymor says. “I hate the comfort zone. … I don’t think that anything that’s really creative can be done without danger and risk.”

http://blogs.orlandosentinel.com/entertainment_tv_tvblog/2010/11/60-minutes-gets-first-look-at-spider-man-musical.html

I get it. I couldn’t agree more with this approach. Sometimes you can make a successful transition from one medium to another and not necessarily be tied to the original material. For example, after Star Trek: Enterprise and Star Trek: Nemesis the franchise needed a big break. Aside from the break, the franchise needed something new and fresh; J.J. Abrams was the answer. I was troubled at first when I heard that he was more of a Star Wars fan rather than Star Trek. However, he did bring a fresh new approach to Trek which I loved and embraced. This is how I see Julie but that ended today.

The news bit about the need for a comic book writer to polish the script for the production is troubling for me. I have read how the Second Act failed to really move the story along but come on; this is something that should not be an issue still today. I can not see how a producer would give the go ahead to a project that wasn’t polished. Yes, re-writes happen all the time but this is beyond of what I believe is acceptable.

So, who are they going to get as a the comic book writer: Bendis, Moore, Straczynski, Metzler? How about Stan “The Man” Lee? If you’re going down this road, why not get the father of Spiderman?

‘Nuff said.

Spider-Man” Producers Turn to Comic Book Writer to Polish Script

February 17, 2011 by Michael Hickerson || Category: On Stage

The troubled production of “Spider-Man: Turn Off the Dark” is looking for some help.

Producers of the off-Broadway play (which has made headlines for injuries during rehearsals and several negatively reviewed previews) are looking to comic book writer Roberto Aguirre-Sacasa to come in and help with the script, according to the New York Times.

A deal isn’t in place yet for the former Marvel writer to work on the script, but the Times reports that conversations are on-going.

Spider-Man, the most expensive production in Broadway history, has been panned by critics from The Hollywood Reporter, The New York Times and The Washington Post, among others.

via “Spider-Man” Producers Turn to Comic Book Writer to Polish Script : Slice of SciFi.

Leave a Reply

