Weddings… Scifi/Fantasy Style

Posted: April 29, 2011 in Scifi
Tags: , , , , , , ,

After the much talked and hyped wedding of Prince William to Kate Middleton is now part of history. Despite the naysayers, there is still something wonderful about a union and commitment between two people. For myself, back in 1982, I woke up early to see the wedding of Price Charles to Lady Diana. I still have the newspaper saved somewhere in my collection of that special event. As time progress, the untimely death of Diana was truly heartbreaking. The image of her sons walking behind her casket procession was one of those images seared into my brain forever. Flash forward, I can’t believe it’s almost 30 years later.  While I didn’t wake up as early for the royal wedding as Diana’s, I did watch this wedding live. There are times when you need a bit of escapism from all the terrible news around the world and for all the pomp and circumstances, this wedding reminded me of what is good in world. Yes, I am getting sappy but I was reminded of my wedding.

While waiting for the wedding to begin, I look around the altar to see all my friends and some family and it hit me. For all those times were I was alone or in a relationship that just didn’t pan out, I couldn’t believe this was actually happening to me. And yes, I will admit – I started to cry. I was bawling my eyes out before the wedding even started. This was a very interesting moment to show everyone since I can have a very stonewall and stoic face – think of a Sarek with Bendi Syndrome. In any case, I am a very lucky man to still be married with the same woman for the past 13+ years.

This now brings me to today’s topic, weddings in scifi/fantasy. Weddings have always played a role in this genre which mirrors the same reason people get married today and not always for love; but that topic is for another day. How many of us wanted to see the marriage between Commander Riker and Counselor Troi from Star Trek: The Next Generation? Or how about the secret marriage between Annakin Skywalker and Padme Amidala and how it play out the Star Wars universe? Regardless, “Mawwiage. Mawwiage is what bwings us togethaw today. Mawwiage, that bwessed awwangement, that dweam within a dweam…” Try to guess the weddings below:






Leave a Reply

