Moviepilot Exclusive Interview: Bob Orci Reflects On ‘Star Trek Into Darkness’ | Moviepilot: New Stories for Upcoming Movies

Posted: November 2, 2013 in Scifi
Tags: , , , ,

robertorci_big

Star Trek Into Darkness is still a thorny issue after all these months. As the article goes on, the minority of those who saw this movie were not pleased were a great deal of Star Trek fans. Just because the majority of the people who saw Into Darkness gave it high marks doesn’t make this Trek movie the best of the bunch. I’ve been wanting and still plan on doing a Trek podcast because this is a very sore subject and I need to purge all this negativity to move on. Yes, I can hold a grudge on many things but I want to have some closure to move on this issue very soon.

I had shown the movie on dvd to my wife and kids and for the most part, they liked the movie. My son, 7, thought the movie was cool while my daughter, 12, liked the movie because of Benedict and that she loves him as Sherlock Holmes. My wife, who is a huge Trek fan, told me that the movie was forgivable except certain moments which were unforgivable as this movie treaded on certain iconic Trek movie moments and treated them poorly. As you can see, using this example, my family overall liked the movie like the general public but like the minority, Trek fans like my wife still had a problem with this second movie from J.J. Abrams.

Star Trek has had plenty of horrific episodes and movies that make me cringe thinking about or shall be named. This happens regardless of any tv series or movie. Still, I think I am more upset with Into Darkness because the bar was set so high with the reboot in 2009 lens flares in all. Trek fans were short-changed and refused to accept this movies as a quality Trek movie. If you are reading this and still don’t get it, you’re probably not a Star Trek fan.

Star Trek Into Darkness is a weird movie. The sequel wasn’t a summer smash, but audiences and critics were fans. The movie received an 87% on Rottentomatoes, a high cinemascore, and a respectable box-office take. But, if you ask plenty Trek fans, it’s no critical darling. The movie was recently named the worst Trek film at a Trek convention, and while I’m not exactly a fan of Into Darkness, to claim it’s at the bottom of the Trek barrel is flat out silliness.

via Moviepilot Exclusive Interview: Bob Orci Reflects On ‘Star Trek Into Darkness’ | Moviepilot: New Stories for Upcoming Movies.

Leave a Reply

