Noah Movie Commentary

Posted: March 31, 2014 in Scifi
Tags: , , , ,

noah-poster

On one of the rare times that I go to the movies, an even rarer times going to the movies with my wife, we decided to see Noah. I can honestly say my wife like this movie more than I did. For me, it was not so much the artistic license with the story, though this seemed I was watching a fantasy movie a la Lord of the Rings, Mad Max or some alternative Earth story. My problem lies within the context of this bible story. Since I don’t follow a religion, though I observe religious holidays, I am not a religious person. I get the idea of faith and that there is something greater than us that made the world that we live in today. How do we know all this went down the way that it did?

I know everything is up to interpretation in the bible and not as gospel of truth. We have Adam and Eve who had two sons. Cain killed Abel and Adam and Eve then had another son called Seth. So, out of the four, we give credit to them for the birth of civilization? Flash forward to Noah and the flood. Carrying out God’s will to protect the innocent – the animals, Noah believed that after his family died, there would be no more men on Earth. Yet, the barren Ila (Emma Watson) is given the ability to have children and as so upset Noah’s plan. Since the babies were girls, Noah planned to kill them as to not have any more off-springs. When the time came, Noah was unable to commit murder of his two new granddaughters. By the end of the movie, he is telling the same thing that “God” said about being fruitful and multiply. With that said, we have Noah and his wife, his oldest son with Ila and their two daughters, and then Noah’s youngest son. Noah’s middle left the family due to conflicts with his father which were very valid but are we to believe that this small handful of survivors had enough genetic material to populate the Earth? There had to be incest on some level to procreate, right? So my wife is really my sister and Noah is my father, NNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!! That’s impossible and no, I will not search out my feelings because I know this to be false.

For all the good the movie tried to give you a story that might have happened a long, long time ago, I for one was taken out of the movie by logic. Later in the day, I was watching Cosmos on Fox which blew me away on the origins of the Universe. Having experienced these polar opposites, there is room for both in my life. I am not about to get into the details here because I am getting physically worked up on this issue. I will try to make mention of it on my podcast which has been long overdue.

Leave a Reply

