Lockout Movie Review

Posted: May 19, 2014 in Scifi
Tags: , , , , , ,

11166032_800

Filling the lull between Captain America 2 and the upcoming Godzilla movie, I’ve decided to look at movies that I missed for one reason or another. Working at the library, when movies are returned, I would look them over to see if this is something I would want to watch. I have several criteria that I follow to determine what I am going to watch. Best of all, they don’t necessarily all have to be met. For example, this movie stars Guy Pearce who Aldrich Killian in Iron Man 3 which I enjoyed his performance immensely. So, I like the lead actor plus it’s a scifi flick – ok, I checked it out. So what is the premise?

A man wrongly convicted of conspiracy to commit espionage against the U.S. is offered his freedom if he can rescue the president’s daughter from an outer space prison taken over by violent inmates. – IMDB

Had I read the back cover or looked it up on IMDB, I would not have bothered. Sometimes, like trailers, there is too much information given to either give away the movie or prejudge the movie by disliking the premise. Going into the opening scene, Snow (Guy) is getting the shit kicked out of him during an interrogation. We get the sense that Snow is a smart ass as he continues to come back with funny one liners after each punch; I actually laughed and enjoyed it.

Langral: Again, what happened in that hotel room?

Snow: Oh, it was coupon night and I was trampolining your wife.

[Snow is punched in the face]

Langral: You’re a real comedian aren’t you, Snow?

Snow: Well I guess that’s why they call it the punch line.

[Snow is punched again]

Langral: You don’t like me, do you?

Snow: Don’t flatter yourself. I don’t like anybody.

Langral: With that attitude, I can see why nobody likes you.

Snow: Oh, come on. People love me. Just ask your wife.

[Snow is punched again]

His co-star Maggie Grace looked familiar but could not remember from where until I IMBD her. She was Shannon Rutherford from the series Lost. Grace played Shannon ala Paris Hilton which was off putting but that was the nature of the character. In Lockout, Grace played the role of the President’s daughter, Emilie Warnock, who looks stunning and channeling a Charlize Theron vibe.

The first 20 minutes I was on board with the actors, premise and modest sfx. However, there was a chase sequence in which our hero, Snow, is being chased while riding a futuristic one wheeled motorcycle. I understand the what they were trying to achieve with their limited budget. The “continuous” one shot zooms around the action and the actor at a pace that feels cheap and rushed. This threw me out of the film at this point and sadly, this movie went downhill soon after and the climax was something out of Star Wars: The Phantom Menace. The only bright moments for this film was Joseph Gilgun as Hydell.

hydell If this face looks familiar that is because is Rudy Wade on the show called Misfits. While Rudy came into the show while many of the prime actors were leaving the show his character took a while to grow on me. However, for the short amount of screen time, Joseph’s performance as Hydell was the perfect. Sadly, there was not enough of him to balance out this weak story. Great beginning, good performances but not worth a second look.

Comments
  1. CMrok93 says:

    So very goofy and dumb, but it was a fun movie that rarely lost my interest. Except for when it was being as conventional as humanly possible. Good review.

    Like

  2. A fair review, this film is not so good but it is still watchable….

    Like

Leave a Reply

