This Is the First Weekend in America With No Saturday Morning Cartoons

Posted: October 4, 2014 in Scifi
Tags: , , , , , , ,

End of an era? For myself, this will be an end of an era. Being an only child, how many times did I build forts/tents in my room while watching Saturday morning cartoons plus I had my Star Wars figures to keep me company. Sad? No. These were happy times that I relished and something my own kids will never get to experience. What was even more exciting was the fFridaynight preview specials. I remember the 3 major channels: ABC, CBS, and NBC had their own show to promote what was coming the next day. Even worse, this was back before vcr so, choosing which shows you were going to watch was even more important because you had to watch it live and no switching channels because the damn plastic knob would make a loud CLACK, CLACK, CLACK noise that would have waken my parents. (This was a no-no in my house.)

Nothing pleased me more when it came to watching superheroes on tv. As a comic book kid, watching The Superfriends come to live was a very big deal for me. There was nothing else like it. Though CBS did have Shazam and The Mighty Isis (hmmmm, still have a crush on her) as a live action show they did some cool things but nothing could match The Superfriends even though many of the storylines watered down the comic book action. On the opposite of the spectrum, there was the BLANK and son series that every cartoon had to have. This drove me nuts as perfectly good series like Fang Face, Popeye and Plastic Man each had mini version paired alongside them during each adventure. I blame it on Scrappy Doo. Thanks the make for the Internet as my memories are still preserved to relive once more.

‘Nuff said.

What were some on your favorites?

 

Saturday morning American broadcast TV was once animation’s home field. Filling a cereal bowl with artificially colored sugar pebbles and staring at the tube was every kid’s weekend plan. Not any more: For the first time in 50-plus years, you won’t find any animation on broadcast this morning. It’s the end of an era.

Yes, The CW, the final holdout in Saturday morning animation, ran its last batch of Vortexx cartoons last weekend. This week, where you once saw shows like Cubix, Sonic X, Dragon Ball Z and Kai, Digimon Fusion, and Yu-Gi-Oh!, you’ll instead find “One Magnificent Morning,” a block of live-action educational programming.

via This Is the First Weekend in America With No Saturday Morning Cartoons.

Leave a Reply

