The World Still Needs a Superman

Posted: October 10, 2014 in Scifi
Tags: , , , , , , ,

christopher reeve as superman

Today marks the 10th anniversary of Christopher Reeve passing. Still to this day, Christopher remains not only many people’s favorite Superman but THE quintessential Superman. There is an honesty and purity Christopher brought to this role. Having watched Superman The Movie countless of times, I still love the scene where Lois is interviewing Superman before their flying time in the sky. He is a bit pensive at first by the line of questions but he ends the discussion about never telling a lie. That line blew me away. In an age of heavy skepticism, you still believe him after all these years. He is honor bound by his word.

Those who remember the movie, Lex put on Superman a kryptonite chain which he could not escape. Ms. Teschmacher saved Superman by insisting that he save her mother in Teaneck, New Jersey. While he could have chased the other missile heading towards California, Superman kept his word. That is a trait that I’ve admired in Reeve’s portrayal and have tried to live so. We could use more people like him in our world today.

Over the years, there have been many other versions of Superman including last year’s Man of Steel by Henry Cavill. Some say that newer incarnations fail rivals Reeve’s more optimistic tone. I’ll give you that but Superman needs to adapt to the times we are in to stay relevant. Still, Cavill’s Superman channeled Reeve’s Superman for extra help in one scene that is amazing.

reeve cavill

This brings me to this point, I am by no account a Superman but if I tell you something that I am going to do for you or myself, I will do it. Sometimes keeping that promise requires the strength of Superman. When I’m running, I am blasting the Man of Steel soundtrack and remembering the shot above so I too can channel the strength of Superman. This may sound weird but when you believe in something so strongly positive things can happen.

One of those positive things came to me last year when I spoke in front of the Miami Dade County Commissioners for saving my library. While I used a Star Trek 2 line of dialogue about the needs of the many… I was wearing a Superman t-shirt underneath the shirt I was wearing. The image below is the design that I wore. I love this shirt. My voice was part of a larger chorus that help save our library system but believing in a Superman and finally myself led me to believe in myself even more.

superman tshirt

Yes, Superman does not exist but once actor made me believe in one. If we all believe in the symbol that Superman represents imagine what we can do to help this ourselves, those around us and the world. I can not think of a better time for the world to have a Superman. Thank you, Christopher.

Leave a Reply

